AJ Hawk penalty on Sproles....?

Talk about the AFC, NFC, the NFL Draft, College Football... anything football that has no Washington Football Team relevance.
Post Reply
tribeofjudah
tribe
tribe
Posts: 7075
youtube meble na wymiar Warszawa
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2007 11:02 pm
Location: SURF CITY, HB, CALI *** Occasionally flying into a SUPERNOVA

AJ Hawk penalty on Sproles....?

Post by tribeofjudah »

Hi all, I'm sure you've seen the second to last play of Thursday night over and over and over again. Hawk jumps over the back of Sproles and hits the ball CLEANLY......but then afterwards, makes minor contact with Sproles.

Now, the ball is knocked OFF flight path and the ball would not have been catchable by Sproles.....IMO

Was the penalty the Right or Wrong call.....? Someone know the rules...?

Bang Bang call.....
Last edited by tribeofjudah on Sat Sep 10, 2011 11:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Proverbs 27:17 As iron sharpens iron,
so one person sharpens another.
User avatar
Deadskins
JSPB22
JSPB22
Posts: 18395
Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2004 10:03 am
Location: Location, LOCATION!

Post by Deadskins »

It was a bad call, IMO. The ref was behind them both and couldn't tell he hit the ball first. I was glad when they stuffed the run on the untimed down.
Andre Carter wrote:Damn man, you know your football.


Hog Bowl IV Champion (2012)

Hail to the Redskins!
User avatar
Red_One43
Hog
Posts: 4609
Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2008 7:31 pm
Location: D.C.

Post by Red_One43 »

Here's my take on it-

Did you see where the ref who threw the flag was standing? He was behind Hawk. From his line of sight, and in fast motion, it looked like pass interference.

Hawk made an "over the back" move which is like "reaching in" in the NBA. Just like in the NBA, if you get all ball and don't touch the opponents body, then it is not an penalty or a foul in the NBA; however, each referee calls what they see differently. For some basketball refs, anytime someone reaches in 9 out of 10 times, it is a foul. I think the opposite happens in the NFL. Anytime someone goes over the back to block a pass, 9 times out of 10, no call is made unless it is very, very blatant.

I don't know where this ref lies on the continuum, but I think that he was not in position to see that there was no contact with the bodies or minimum contact at best. From his position, to him, it probably looked like a blantant, no brainer "over the back," pass interference call.

With the aid of replay, it certainly looks like it was all ball, but the replay is not conclusive about body contact after Hawk tips the ball. Was it a wrong call? I doubt that the Head of Refs will say it was. Was it a good call, I would say no, because 99.9 out of 100 of plays like Hawk made will not get called even if there is clearly minimal contact.

There is not a lot of buzz on the internet about it, but that might be because the Packers still won. Had they lost the game, the NFL Head of Refs might have had to step forward and say something.

If Hawk made any significant contact with Sproles, it appeared to come after he tipped the ball.


http://scores.nbcsports.msnbc.com/fb/st ... =9&src=NFL
tribeofjudah
tribe
tribe
Posts: 7075
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2007 11:02 pm
Location: SURF CITY, HB, CALI *** Occasionally flying into a SUPERNOVA

Post by tribeofjudah »

^^^^^^^^^ I agree with your assessment.
Proverbs 27:17 As iron sharpens iron,
so one person sharpens another.
Post Reply