No, it is not a touchdown knee is clearly down before the receiver crosses the goal line and is touched it is however a completed catch according to the "rules"
TexasCowboy wrote:No, it is not a touchdown knee is clearly down before the receiver crosses the goal line and is touched it is however a completed catch according to the "rules"
Just to clarify:
Are you saying it is not a TD because he is down by contact before the ball crosses the goal line?
Hog Bowl III, V, X Champion (2011, 2013, 2018)
Hognostication Champion (2011, 2013, 2016)
Hognostibowl XII Champion (2017, 2018)
Scalp 'em, Swamp 'em, We will take 'em big score! Read 'em, Weep 'em Touchdown, We want heap more!
Dumb question when it is clear that Bolden touched him to avoid any miss communication that should a ref decide that James is not down at his own behest Bolden wanted to make sure James was not able to advance the ball. I'd say that kills 2 birds with 1 stone regardless James is down and the play is dead, NO, the game is not technically over, unless it is ruled a touchdown which it was
not have been but the Steeler's worst mistake was attempting that weak fake at the end
the smart move is handing it off that is what cost them the game
TexasCowboy wrote:He does not need to touch him prior all he needs to do is make the contact and he did that
I am taking this to mean that you think the Patriot need not touch James to make James be down. That is, you think James is down the moment his knee touches the ground even though there has been no contact with a Patriot yet.
Is that what you are saying?
Hog Bowl III, V, X Champion (2011, 2013, 2018)
Hognostication Champion (2011, 2013, 2016)
Hognostibowl XII Champion (2017, 2018)
Scalp 'em, Swamp 'em, We will take 'em big score! Read 'em, Weep 'em Touchdown, We want heap more!
TexasCowboy wrote:Once again he did what was required
This is unclear. When you say "he" did what was required do you mean James or the Patriot?
Why not just answer what I asked below?
DarthMonk wrote:
TexasCowboy wrote:He does not need to touch him prior all he needs to do is make the contact and he did that
I am taking this to mean that you think the Patriot need not touch James to make James be down. That is, you think James is down the moment his knee touches the ground even though there has been no contact with a Patriot yet.
Is that what you are saying?
Recall this please:
DarthMonk wrote:
TexasCowboy wrote:No, it is not a touchdown knee is clearly down before the receiver crosses the goal line and is touched it is however a completed catch according to the "rules"
Just to clarify:
Are you saying it is not a TD because he is down by contact before the ball crosses the goal line?
TexasCowboy wrote:That is exactly what I am saying Monk it cannot be any more clearer than that
THUS YOU ARE ON RECORD AS SAYING HE IS DOWN BY CONTACT BEFORE THE BALL CROSSES THE GOAL LINE AND I AM ASKING YOU IF THE PATRIOT TOUCHED HIM BEFORE THE BALL CROSSED THE GOAL LINE. i'LL ASK AGAIN:
DID THE PATRIOT TOUCH HIM BEFORE THE BALL CROSSED THE GOAL LINE?
Hog Bowl III, V, X Champion (2011, 2013, 2018)
Hognostication Champion (2011, 2013, 2016)
Hognostibowl XII Champion (2017, 2018)
Scalp 'em, Swamp 'em, We will take 'em big score! Read 'em, Weep 'em Touchdown, We want heap more!
The problem with the "rule" is that the rule never needed changing once again nowhere else in football does this apply except in the NFL overly complicating what constitutes a "catch" so I agree
with Tomlin that there needs to be a change to the way of old regarding the matter
TexasCowboy wrote:The problem with the "rule" is that the rule never needed changing once again nowhere else in football does this apply except in the NFL overly complicating what constitutes a "catch" so I agree
with Tomlin that there needs to be a change to the way of old regarding the matter
The "rule" currently at issue is what constitutes a runner being down.
Perhaps the most glaring difference between the college and pro games is how players are ruled “down”.
In the NFL, a player is down when he is either on the ground and touched by an opposing player or goes to the ground as a result of contact with an opposing player.
In college, a player is down whenever a part of his body other than his feet or hands touches the ground, regardless of whether or not he was touched by an opposing player.
What that means is that if an NFL player falls to the ground without being touched–say after making a diving catch or losing his footing—he can get back up and keep running because the play is still live. In college, he’d be down.
Your posts in this thread indicate you are confused on this point.
Does the Patriot touch James before the ball crosses the goal line? If not, then he is not down the moment his knee touches the ground.
Hog Bowl III, V, X Champion (2011, 2013, 2018)
Hognostication Champion (2011, 2013, 2016)
Hognostibowl XII Champion (2017, 2018)
Scalp 'em, Swamp 'em, We will take 'em big score! Read 'em, Weep 'em Touchdown, We want heap more!
That's right Monk the issue is was the runner down prior to the ball striking the turf? you admitted that he is clearly down prior to the ball striking the turf so under the rule tell me again how the play continues when it is a dead ball issue at that point
TexasCowboy wrote:That's right Monk the issue is was the runner down prior to the ball striking the turf? you admitted that he is clearly down prior to the ball striking the turf so under the rule tell me again how the play continues when it is a dead ball issue at that point
I never admitted the runner was ever down. Show me where I did. You said he was down before the ball crossed the goal line. How so?
Rule 7a you keep citing does not support your contention.
You are doing a lot of dodging here.
Did the Patriot touch him before the ball crossed the goal line?
Hog Bowl III, V, X Champion (2011, 2013, 2018)
Hognostication Champion (2011, 2013, 2016)
Hognostibowl XII Champion (2017, 2018)
Scalp 'em, Swamp 'em, We will take 'em big score! Read 'em, Weep 'em Touchdown, We want heap more!
So, what is your argument for a non-catch? since you have clearly established the leg down which puts rule 7a into full effect of a dead ball situation, having the receiver making contact with a defender and cannot advance the ball in that situation, the ground cannot cause a fumble, Nor can it make a catch incomplete according to the "rule" when the receiver has already taken the
proper steps to ensure the ball is secured prior to the ground