How the NO Stars can win a super bowl LI rotflmao
Posted: Wed Jul 20, 2016 12:50 pm
Washington football community discussions spanning the Redskins to Commanders era. 20+ years of game analysis, player discussions, and fan perspectives.
https://the-hogs.net/messageboard/
DarthMonk wrote:
Countertrey wrote:about a particular clear incompletion...
Countertrey wrote:Lemmings gotta run to the sea... TC gotta argue the inarguable... The world goes round.
Countertrey wrote:TC gotta argue the inarguable...
TexasCowboy wrote:
3 irrefutable pictures that show he maintained possession and the
ball never touched the ground at any point
Burgundy&GoldForever wrote:The pass was ruled incomplete. Get over it.
TexasCowboy wrote:DarthMonk wrote:
Due explain your Irony ...
Deadskins wrote:In fact, they show nothing of the kind. They clearly show that he did not maintain possession, and you can't see the moment the ball hits the ground, but you can clearly see in photo one that the ball will hit the ground just before his elbow, and you can see in the second the equal and opposite reaction of the ball hitting the ground and bouncing out of his possession. And the video just makes it even more clear. Also, there are other angles in the other thread, that show the ball plainly on the ground and totally loose in the air after.
Deadskins wrote:Please!
Here it is from the opposite angle.:
Tell me that ball isn't touching the ground!
Here it is in super slo-mo :
Tell me that ball doesn't touch the ground, and then bounce up out of his control!
Here he is, ball completely out of his position:
Tell me he never lost control!
[/Argument]
Section 2 Dead Ball
Article 1: Dead Ball Declared. An official shall declare the ball dead and the down ended:
(a) when a runner is contacted by a defensive player and touches the ground with any part of his body
other than his hands or feet. The ball is dead the instant the runner touches the ground. A runner
touching the ground with his hands or feet while in the grasp of an opponent
DarthMonk wrote:It's all been refuted so many times. He is not down by contact. Rather, he is down in the process of trying to complete the catch - and he must maintain control while doing so according to the rules, with or without contact from the defender. Again, why does Dez go to the ground if he can simply run in? Because he can't simply run in. He's falling, losing control on impact, and blowing another one.
Thanks, Trey.
But please recall ...
Just in case a conscious being is reading this, my 6 year old understands why Dez did not complete a catch according to the rules of the NFL.
An App is incapable of understanding things. It simply carries out code. This is the only conceivable explanation for the obtuseness and buffoonery of the pro-catch posts in this thread.
Insults and confusion to follow. Certainly not anything approaching a cogent argument.
For more on this see SMACK - viewtopic.php?f=7&t=39922&start=405
DarthMonk wrote:Didn't make me wonder and an app can't wonder.
DarthMonk wrote:Just confusion from the app so far. Dallas covered the spread in this game.
The TC App wrote:DarthMonk wrote:Just confusion from the app so far. Dallas covered the spread in this game.
Vegas certainly got in on it Dallas I am sure was getting pretty good odds that day...
and anyone laying some heavy money down, were about to hit pay dirt!! just shows
that corruption is everywhere
DarthMonk wrote:As outlned in the NFL Case Book but organized in sequence:
Scenario 1:
A1 throws to A2 who grabs ball and is running upright in balance. A2 takes 2 steps in bounds and is then tackled. Ball comes out after a knee hits the ground.
Ruling: Completed pass and down by contact. Ball is spotted wherever it was when the knee hit. I think this is essentially how TexasCowboy sees the Dez Bryant play.
Scenario 2:
A1 throws to A2 who dives and grabs ball while airborne and body almost parallel to ground. Defender B1 makes contact with A2 while ball is firmly in his grasp and while still airborne. Body parts of A2 make contact with ground in following order. Left foot hits while ball still firmly grasped. Right foot hits while ball still firmly grasped. Left knee hits while ball still firmly grasped. Left elbow hits while ball still firmly grasped. Right elbow hits and ball pops out.
Ruling: Incomplete. A2 was going to ground in process of catching ball and must maintain possession all the way to the ground. Ruling is incomplete in this scenario whether there is contact with a defender or not.
TexasCowby - The 2nd scenario is correct. You cannot simply cite 2 feet and a knee and claim down by contact if the player is going to the ground in the process of catching the ball. This is why it matters WHEN THE FALLING BEGINS. Your only possible valid argument is that Dez had his balance and DECIDED to go to the ground. The rule specifically states "with or without contact" and if the contact (which you acknowledge and even bank on) occurs any time before a football move that follows a second step (which you also pointed out happens)TexasCowboy wrote:his hands open for a split second, the ball is still in play at this point...Dez then secures
it..one foot comes down, the second foot? is now entangled with the defenders leg who
is trying to jar the ball free
, then the "going to the ground during the process" rule applies.
What it boils down to is that you have to claim Dez is not in the process of "going to the ground" in frames 3 and 4 below. It sure looks like he is to me (and every expert on the matter).
The Case Book even distinguishes between these 2 scenarios:
A2 is contacted by B between first and second steps sending him to the ground and A2
a) puts hand down, regains balance, lunges, ball comes loose upon impact. Ruling: Complete if in endzone, fumble if not in endzone.
b) puts hand down but does not regain balance, lunges, ball comes loose upon impact. Ruling: Incomplete.
TexasCowboy wrote:Still fails to prove that the NFL isn't corrupt ...
TexasCowboy wrote:At least you have the guts Monk to acknowledge the league is corrupt Monk so on
that point your pretty damn OK in my book, However I have not ignored the rule
but I challenge the rule because generally a non possession call is reserved for
someone who never has full possession prior to going to the ground and striking
it as in this case....so I agree he could and should have been cited as "down"
which is the right call as opposed to waiting for movement to stop and claiming
he's continuing the play when in fact that could be the case
TexasCowboy wrote:I once again respectfully disagree with the ruling he can't very well be down and
continuing the play at the same time..It's either one or the other? If the rule says
he's down then come out and say "down" admit to the mistake the league needs
to stop contradicting themselves it reflects poorly on them at the end of the day