Page 4 of 4

Re: Is This a Touchdown ?

Posted: Thu Dec 28, 2017 3:56 pm
by TexasCowboy
Image

Now point to the ones that are the rest of you?

Re: Is This a Touchdown ?

Posted: Wed Feb 21, 2018 9:24 am
by DarthMonk
TexasCowboy wrote:Image

Now point to the ones that are the rest of you?
You are the one who admitted to doing sheep at the edge of a cliff (repeatedly) because they push back.

Re: Is This a Touchdown ?

Posted: Wed Feb 21, 2018 9:28 am
by DarthMonk
An interesting exchange ending with perhaps the most ignorant post in the history of this site since being down BY CONTACT on the NFL requires, ahem, CONTACT.

DarthMonk wrote:Is this a touchdown ?

Image

Comments are welcome.
TexasCowboy wrote:No, it is not a touchdown knee is clearly down before the receiver crosses the goal line and is touched it is however a completed catch according to the "rules"
DarthMonk wrote:
TexasCowboy wrote:No, it is not a touchdown knee is clearly down before the receiver crosses the goal line and is touched it is however a completed catch according to the "rules"
Just to clarify:

Are you saying it is not a TD because he is down by contact before the ball crosses the goal line?
TexasCowboy wrote:That is exactly what I am saying Monk it cannot be any more clearer than that

Re: Is This a Touchdown ?

Posted: Wed Feb 21, 2018 4:53 pm
by TexasCowboy
Digging ancient threads out of the relics archive isn't going to change the narrative that in the end, the NFL sunk anything you've got to say on their behalf

Re: Is This a Touchdown ?

Posted: Thu Feb 22, 2018 10:52 am
by DarthMonk
An interesting exchange (from this thread) ending with perhaps the most ignorant post in the history of this site since being down BY CONTACT on the NFL requires, ahem, CONTACT.

DarthMonk wrote:Is this a touchdown ?

Image

Comments are welcome.
TexasCowboy wrote:No, it is not a touchdown knee is clearly down before the receiver crosses the goal line and is touched it is however a completed catch according to the "rules"
DarthMonk wrote:
TexasCowboy wrote:No, it is not a touchdown knee is clearly down before the receiver crosses the goal line and is touched it is however a completed catch according to the "rules"
Just to clarify:

Are you saying it is not a TD because he is down by contact before the ball crosses the goal line?
TexasCowboy wrote:That is exactly what I am saying Monk it cannot be any more clearer than that

Re: Is This a Touchdown ?

Posted: Thu Feb 22, 2018 2:44 pm
by TexasCowboy
In other news NFL admits to illegal game fixing

Re: Is This a Touchdown ?

Posted: Thu Feb 22, 2018 7:52 pm
by flamethrower
DarthMonk wrote:An interesting exchange (from this thread) ending with perhaps the most ignorant post in the history of this site since being down BY CONTACT on the NFL requires, ahem, CONTACT.

DarthMonk wrote:Is this a touchdown ?

Image

Comments are welcome.
TexasCowboy wrote:No, it is not a touchdown knee is clearly down before the receiver crosses the goal line and is touched it is however a completed catch according to the "rules"
DarthMonk wrote:
TexasCowboy wrote:No, it is not a touchdown knee is clearly down before the receiver crosses the goal line and is touched it is however a completed catch according to the "rules"
Just to clarify:

Are you saying it is not a TD because he is down by contact before the ball crosses the goal line?
TexasCowboy wrote:That is exactly what I am saying Monk it cannot be any more clearer than that
Ball was trapped by James. He never maintained control. Dez Bobbled it the entire time he was trying to catch it. He might have actually caught it. Had he kept both hands on it. But, he didn't maintain control of it. Which means it was not a catch. Both plays were ruled IN-Com-PLETE. Time to get over it.

Re: Is This a Touchdown ?

Posted: Fri Feb 23, 2018 7:40 am
by TexasCowboy
Trapped? yet the issue is securing not how he secures the pass that is in question here

Re: Is This a Touchdown ?

Posted: Fri Feb 23, 2018 8:56 am
by DarthMonk
Simple fact is you think if an NFL runner falls down on his own that he's down by contact and you cite rule 7a which clearly states that is not the case.

Simple fact is you think the NFL and NCAA rules ares the same and every other person on this board knows that is flat out wrong.

Rule 7a mandates contact by a defender before anything else.

Jesse James simply cannot be down by contact at the one yard line since no defender has touched him yet and he is in the NFL not the NCAA.

You lose.

Re: Is This a Touchdown ?

Posted: Fri Feb 23, 2018 10:24 am
by TexasCowboy
Correct 99.9% of the plays generally end in some form of contact whether out of bounds, In the end zone even attempts at going out of bounds but to say "runners" don't lose footing is absurd players loose footing quite often due to poor field conditions like weather or poor maintenance

not going to buy that carry on

Re: Is This a Touchdown ?

Posted: Fri Feb 23, 2018 1:52 pm
by flamethrower
DarthMonk wrote:Simple fact is you think if an NFL runner falls down on his own that he's down by contact and you cite rule 7a which clearly states that is not the case.

Simple fact is you think the NFL and NCAA rules ares the same and every other person on this board knows that is flat out wrong.

Rule 7a mandates contact by a defender before anything else.

Jesse James simply cannot be down by contact at the one yard line since no defender has touched him yet and he is in the NFL not the NCAA.

You lose.
Play was ruled IN-COM-PLETE. Time to get over it.

Re: Is This a Touchdown ?

Posted: Fri Feb 23, 2018 2:05 pm
by DarthMonk
TexasCowboy wrote:Correct 99.9% of the plays generally end in some form of contact whether out of bounds, In the end zone even attempts at going out of bounds but to say "runners" don't lose footing is absurd players loose footing quite often due to poor field conditions like weather or poor maintenance

not going to buy that carry on
Who said that ??? :hmm:

YOU said Jesse James was down by contact before the ball crossed the goal line even though he had not yet been touched. He wan't down by contact at the one.

YOU said the same rule applies in the NFL and the NCAA. The same rule does not apply.

Simple fact is you think if an NFL runner falls down on his own that he's down by contact and you cite rule 7a which clearly states that is not the case.

Simple fact is you think the NFL and NCAA rules ares the same and every other person on this board knows that is flat out wrong.

Rule 7a mandates contact by a defender before anything else.

Jesse James simply cannot be down by contact at the one yard line since no defender has touched him yet and he is in the NFL not the NCAA.

You lose.

Re: Is This a Touchdown ?

Posted: Fri Feb 23, 2018 7:13 pm
by TexasCowboy
Yep I said it down once again rule 7 (E) a player can ground himself 7 (A) a player is down when a body part other than a hand or foot strikes the turf, the continuation of the set "rule" makes it clear a player is only
allowed to advance the ball only when? a hand or foot touches first, James already secured the catch, his
leg is clearly on the turf and YES even manages to get "touched" by a defender

all within the requirements of the leagues very own "rules" for maintaining "possession" through out the
process

Yet you want to argue that this is not true because the league claims that a ball that touches the turf
after a player is already down, automatically makes the process void, Good luck getting any current or
even former head coach or player to buy that line

it won't happen not even the media buys it and if that doesn't convince you nothing will

Re: Is This a Touchdown ?

Posted: Sat Feb 24, 2018 2:35 pm
by flamethrower
Play was ruled IN-COM-PLETE. Time to get over it.

Re: Is This a Touchdown ?

Posted: Sat Feb 24, 2018 3:33 pm
by TexasCowboy
Here is a homework assignment

Google when the rate of free fall ends ?

Re: Is This a Touchdown ?

Posted: Sun Feb 25, 2018 12:40 pm
by flamethrower
Play was ruled IN-COM-PLETE. Time to get over it.

Re: Is This a Touchdown ?

Posted: Sun Feb 25, 2018 5:26 pm
by flamethrower
DarthMonk wrote:Now for further clarification:

Do you maintain that a Patriot touched him before the ball crossed the goal line?

Image


Perhaps but you didn't answer it.

If you say "Yes, he touched him before the ball crossed the goal line" then I would say that is clearly wrong.

If you say "No, he touched him after the ball crossed the goal line" then James was not down by rule 7a the instant his knee touched the ground.
Is the Patriots Defender Reed Richards, or Plastic Man? That is the only way the Patriots defender could have touched the Steelers player before he crossed the goal line. Unless we need a frontal lobotomy to get confused about the college rules not the NFL rules. In College it takes only 1 step in bounds for it to be a catch. Did the rules in the NFL also change to reflect that ruling also???

Re: Is This a Touchdown ?

Posted: Mon Feb 26, 2018 1:36 pm
by DarthMonk
TexasCowboy wrote:Yep I said it down once again rule 7 (E) a player can ground himself
That is 7E not 7A.

And when did he declare himself down? Never saw him slide. Did you? Never saw him take a snap and kneel. Did you?
TexasCowboy wrote:7 (A) a player is down when a body part other than a hand or foot strikes the turf, the continuation of the set "rule" makes it clear a player is only
allowed to advance the ball only when? a hand or foot touches first, James already secured the catch, his
leg is clearly on the turf and
As 7a clearly says, contact with a defender must occur before "a body part other than" matters. Remember, the NCAA rule does not require this but NFL rule 7a does.
TexasCowboy wrote:YES even manages to get "touched" by a defender
After the fact in the end zone - not in accordance with 7a.
TexasCowboy wrote:all within the requirements of the leagues very own "rules" for maintaining "possession" through out the
process
Nope - near the end of the process he completely loses control.
TexasCowboy wrote:Yet you want to argue that this is not true because the league claims that a ball that touches the turf
after a player is already down, automatically makes the process void, Good luck getting any current or
even former head coach or player to buy that line

it won't happen not even the media buys it and if that doesn't convince you nothing will
Trouble is he was not already "down." He was falling before the ball even touched his hands and you simply ignore the rule that he must survive the ground.