Page 2 of 2
Posted: Mon Dec 15, 2008 2:36 pm
by Deadskins
SkinsJock wrote:Maybe this is why we are having so many issues with the officials - they have different interpretation of both the rules and the requirements for changing a call.
JSPB22 wrote: Whether or not the ball crossed the plane is irrelevant. The player had two feet down in the endzone with possession of the ball = TD.
You obviously know the rules very well to be so sure and so emphatic.
Personally, I thought the ball had to cross the plane of the goal line.
The ruling on the field was the ball was just short of the goal - the review did convince the official that the player had 2 feet down (that is what he stated!) BUT the big thing to everyone (excluding you apparently) was that no replay showed the ball definetly did cross the line - to all these people including Madden there was no "irrefutable" evidence to overturn the original call - IF the call had been a TD there was no sure evidence to overturn that call either.
I have to say that I think you should check this ruling out - 2 feet down with possession is great but if the ball is not across that line it is not a TD

Dude, I already admitted I got it wrong. Still, that was the ruling by the replay official, so apparently he was fuzzy on that as well.
Posted: Mon Dec 15, 2008 2:48 pm
by Deadskins
Bob 0119 wrote:DEHog wrote:Bob 0119 wrote:DEHog wrote:JSPB22 wrote:Chris Luva Luva wrote:You'd all be irate if this were the Redskins... But then...we wouldn't be in this position anyway...

We were in the very same position yesterday. The call on the field was overturned with even less visual evidence than Pittsburgh had.
Not sure which one you are referring too..but Sellers didn't score on either and the replays showed it!!
Now the call in Baltimore was much closer IMO I agree with you that the ball crossed the line...but I agree with Chris I didn't see evidence to overturn it.
I think what he was saying is that the ruling on the field was a touchdown, but after review it was called back.
In the replay, you couldn't see any part of Sellers, so therefor you couldn't have conclusive proof that he was down by contact.
By rule, the replay is only supposed to overturn the call on the field if there is conclusive proof, which you couldn't get by not seeing Sellers amidst the mass of humanity in the pile
The replay I saw showed Sellers on the ground well short of the goal line wasn't even close IMO
I'll add I hate when the refs don't make an intial call then come running in from the sidelines and see the ball in the end zone and go TD!!!
That's what happened on that play IMO
Oh, I don't think he made it in either, but my point was about the ruling on the field.
I'll never forgive the refs for giving Mike Alstott that touchdown when only his helmet broke the plane. There ruling was that there wasn't enough "conclusive" evidence to show that he was down, and they couldn't see where the ball was on the replay.
Well, we could see where the ball wasn't, and it wasn't past his head.
There was an endzone angle that clearly showed Alstott's elbow of the arm cradling the ball, on the ground about a foot outside the goal line. They only showed it once, but the officials obviously didn't look at that angle in making their ruling. There was a snapshot here on the site at the time. That cost us the second seed and a bye.
I don't know what replay of Sellers you saw, but the TV never showed one where you could ever see his knee touching the turf, which is what the official said he saw that overturned the call on the field.
Posted: Mon Dec 15, 2008 3:44 pm
by redskins14ru
Jake wrote:JSPB22 wrote:Chris Luva Luva wrote:The Ravens were cheated out of a win... Disgusting.
Whether or not the ball crossed the plane is irrelevant. The player had two feet down in the endzone with possession of the ball = TD.
False. The ball MUST cross the plain.
If you want another flashback... look back to Jay Novacek's catch that he thought was a td in Super Bowl 30 against the Steelers. He tried to con the ref into giving him a td but only his feet were in the endzone, not the ball.
what was he thinking, the refs also the players I feel they all lack some discipline then again I could also say that snyder owns the skins and that would cover most topics that I disagree w/ concerning the nfl. honestly the skinsshould have problems signing FA because of owner ship.
Posted: Mon Dec 15, 2008 4:35 pm
by SkinsJock
JSPB22 wrote:..Dude, I already admitted I got it wrong. Still, that was the ruling by the replay official, so apparently he was fuzzy on that as well.
No worries JSPB - at the time I wrote the response I did not see your clarification - I totally agree that the replay official made it sound like because the player had 2 feet down in the end zone he had a TD

I agree with your thought that he may very well have made the incorrect call there.
As far as having sensors in the ball - that would help but the sensors would not be able to determine if the ball crossed the line in the player's possession. But the replay could clarify even that situation.
Clearly Sellers did not score the TD on the first play BUT I found it frustrating how Zorn handled that whole situation anyway. The only thing that could happen was that we were going to lose a TO
Posted: Mon Dec 15, 2008 4:42 pm
by Deadskins
SkinsJock wrote:Clearly Sellers did not score the TD on the first play
I don't see how you can say that, when no replay showed that conclusively.
Posted: Mon Dec 15, 2008 4:59 pm
by DEHog
JSPB22 wrote:SkinsJock wrote:Clearly Sellers did not score the TD on the first play
I don't see how you can say that, when no replay showed that conclusively.
The reply I saw had Seller laying on the ground with the ball a good yard from the goal line are you trying to say he wasn't down because he was on the pile??
Posted: Mon Dec 15, 2008 5:56 pm
by Chris Luva Luva
Mike Sellers, clear as day was NOWHERE NEAR THE GOAL LINE!
The Ravens however got screwed because there was NO CONCLUSIVE EVIDENCE to overturn the call on the field.
Posted: Mon Dec 15, 2008 6:36 pm
by DEHog
Chris Luva Luva wrote:Mike Sellers, clear as day was NOWHERE NEAR THE GOAL LINE!
The Ravens however got screwed because there was NO CONCLUSIVE EVIDENCE to overturn the call on the field.
OK thanks I thought I was watching a different game
Posted: Mon Dec 15, 2008 11:10 pm
by DEHog
Ok so Assante Samuels pulled a DeSean Jackson and fumbled the ball before he crossed the goal line...if another Eagle had recovered it would it have been ruled intentional and only the player who fumbled it could recover it??